“M” is for Making Musical Lore

I’m sure some of you who are reading are tired of the angry whinging I have been spewing out the orifice of my brain to my fingertips. This post is everything but the anger, the depression, and all of the stupid negative crap. I’m done with all of THAT for a while (it will be ritually execrated on the 7th of August for the Closing of the Year).

Music speaks on so many levels. It can excite me. It can sadden me. It can bring unconscious tears to my eyes and down my cheeks. Music defines my life, how I live it, and how I interact with others. It is a connecting web to vocalize with others and self.

A little while back when I was faced head on with community and other people outside of the experiences I’ve been plagued with locally, I encountered a new phenomenon: music for deity representations. Now, I have a collection of music that has tracks named for different deities, but thinking of popular music lyrics as songs for deity was not something I ever thought about.

After reading posts and talking to others I started to look at the songs I listen to over and over again and what drives me to be addicted to them. I found they capture stories and inserts of stories.
For example, here is the beginning of the song “Eye of the Storm” by Cruxshadows. The lyrics listed below captured my attention from when I first heard it, and even drove me to make an AMV (Anime Music Video) back in the day where I was doing things like that.

“The trials you now are facing
They are not greater than your will
For there is nothing under heaven
You cannot overcome

See the door that lies before you
And know this too shall pass
The confrontation of your tears
In strength drawn from the past
When the silent voices whisper
Find the course that is your own
And however great the obstacle
You will never be alone

For I have watched the path of angels
And I have heard the heavens roar
There is strife within the tempest
But there is calm in the eye of the storm”

The thought of overcoming anything and everything appealed to me because of the experiences I have had throughout my life. I strive (not just desire it) to overcome everything however great or small. It was brought to my attention some time ago that this song can also be equated with Set. I started to think about it deeply. The lyrics really speak towards being that epicenter to drive everything along and breeze by those who don’t matter. It is Him. It is me, and all of a sudden it made more sense as to why He has invested so much in to me. We are one and the same in the path we have chosen to walk.

I am considering a large project that would catalog my music in to playlists for different Netjeru, so I can maybe get past my own dense nature and lack of connecting my life with Theirs. It has been an ongoing breaking down the walls series, and is going to be used more for breaking down the walls than trying to capture ALL of Their essence.

Another twist was recently added to this thinky-thought. The other day I was listening to a walkthrough of Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance (Nintendo 3DS game) and one of the worlds (Symphony of Sorcery) is based off of Disney’s “Fantasia” where Mickey is an apprentice caught in the trance of a dream-eater and music has to be obtained to wake him up. The music obtained at the end of it all with the two combined pieces between Sora and Riku was the musical theme of friendship used in the different entries to the series called “Dearly Beloved”. I had forgotten the power that simple little musical piece moved me. Yes people, video games move me.

It isn’t just the lyrics of songs that create a literary connection to self and others. It is the rhythm, the notes, the speed and other standardized guidelines of musical quality that can drive emotions and connections within me. Which leads me to ponder MANY things.

One of the essences of my “work” that I’m actually able to talk about is storytelling. I have beem entrusted to share who They are with the world. One of the aspects of this work is to tell the stories using different mediums other than lectures and powerpoints (I’m not bashing those who do traditional mediums, it’s just not MY method).

The challenge has been to take what’s washing around in my head and translate it to something others can understand. Hence why I have a degree in Art and Film. My original plan was to go in to animation and game concept design, but that has shifted to work in as many mediums as I can, for example jewelry, film, painting, drawing, and now potentially music.

In the coming times I may have some pieces for the internet to feast upon (or barf upon as it may be). My goal is to experiment with the idea and run with it for a bit. “M” is for making musical lore, because it can be done. Well, not just it can be done, it has already been done for thousands of years, now it’s just me connecting the dots and having it go along with my work.

About Neteruhemta

I am a follower of the Netjeru (Ancient Egyptian Pantheon), a crafter, and a gamer. This blog illustrates and explains my religious experiences attempting to reconcile the ancient information scattered with the modern reality we all presently exist in.

Posted on July 30, 2013, in Creation, Kemetic, Music, Mythology, Pagan, Pagan Blog Project and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

