“J” is for Journeying on a Path laced with Beads and Jewelry

What can I say? I’m a beading-craftaholic and it makes perfect sense the post for this letter couldn’t be any other thing. I am not going to include pictures as they are sporadic and unorganized to the point of I-don’t-want-to-deal-with-it-right-now, but included in this post is a rundown of a little history, and a written blueprint of plans for current/future projects in regards of my jewelry-laced path.

I grew up learning different crafts like sewing, beading, braiding, and others. When I hit about thirteen, I didn’t craft much at all anymore as soccer, school, video games, and extracurricular research took up most of my time and interest. It wasn’t until college I would start to explore jewelry making again.

The later part of my college career was very hectic on many levels and stress management was not one of my fortes (many times, especially recently, it still isn’t). I knew I needed, for my own stability, to have projects not school related to help me unwind when life was too stressful. I started looking at beading again and it took off to become a prominent piece of my current lifestyle.

The over-arching project I’m undertaking with the jewelry-making is to make it a sustainable source of income in the future. I started to take a look at the functions it has had not just as a stress-relief, but as a lifestyle. This exploration has led me to where I’m at now with attempting to merge the spiritual with my everyday facets.

I have been in and out of pseudo-identity-label crises throughout the years in regards to religious practice and what position I want to take in regards to my own practice. I’m not a priestess in the hard-recon sense and although that was my original goal, my path is no longer anywhere near that part of the spectrum. I sat down and thought about the different societal functions and found the “priesty” aspect is in fact very small both in my life and what I have found studying the ancient Egyptians. I became enamored with the idea of being an artisan/priestess hybrid.

I’ve become interested in crafting (specifically beading) as manifestation work and community involvement. Some of the projects I hope to test and if successful give my services to the community at large.

Base Jewelry as I like to call them (necklaces, earrings, bracelets, and rings) are all going to be created both on a non-spiritual level and as “amulets”. I don’t want to limit my outreach base by saying, “I’m going to only make X jewelry for X people”. The only aspect I want exclusive is it’s made by me. There will be an inventory of non-individual based pieces to feed the resources to make the commission based ones, but I would like to have an emphasis on commission based.

The “amulets” I would make with intent would be commission based and not necessarily just Kemetically themed. They are going to be made based on and for the individual who is going to own them. I’m currently testing how to control the energy and intent behind the design and the crafting of each piece in regards to the more energetically charged pieces.

A little further specific in the “necklace” category is the usekh. For those unfamiliar with the concept, it’s the collar piece worn by the upper class. This project has been on hiatus after I have tried to assemble it four or five different ways, and I have banked over fifty or sixty hours on it. It’s back to the drawing board for that one.

A category within the commissions would include icons. These will not necessarily be jewelry, but they could be. I follow different Netjeru where either statuary is expensive or they are not made for a variety of reasons, and so I came up with the idea to make pieces for myself for different Netjeru (including some I have statues for). This is a work in progress and there are no finished products yet. The work with icons and beads is also something I’m going to experiment with on canvases. The pieces would have beads, paint, and maybe even clay (I haven’t figured out exactly what I want to do yet).

I could go on and on about all of the ideas and projects I have, but long post is long and I think as I have substance, each one of these can their own posts and photo albums of progress. What started as stress relief is now a calling. With how penetrating beading and even beyond that, crafting, is in my life; it makes sense that my path is journeying laced with beads and jewelry.

About Neteruhemta

I am a follower of the Netjeru (Ancient Egyptian Pantheon), a crafter, and a gamer. This blog illustrates and explains my religious experiences attempting to reconcile the ancient information scattered with the modern reality I presently exist in.

Posted on July 12, 2013, in Craft, Kemetic, Pagan Blog Project and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awesomesauce! I’m working on the Kemetic artisan route too. I got a small kiln this past spring and it’s the best thing ever! I’m trying to perfect my faience recipe. I’m up to number 6, which looks good but is still difficult to work. I’m learning to make beads and small amulets so far. I’d love to make a collar necklace too, but they do look extremely complicated, and they use a huge amount of beads. Maybe someday.

Leave a Reply

