“F” is for Fishing is in my life

Ha, ha! Guess who is behind? I figure it’s nothing new. I get stints where the brain won’t think, other times where it’s over-thinking, and times where it’s just melting. Even worse than that is not knowing which point I’m at (enter now). From what I have been able to gather, it’s the theme of fishes and fishing that’s causing gesticulation on a grand scale.

In my day-to-day life, I’ve been fishing for “the rare catch”(which includes bait as a resume and cover letter), and sorting through the other fishes I already have to find what I want/can do to do day-to-day to make life better, so I’m not depressed. I know one of the baskets of fish I want to work with is getting is filled with the crafting, the art, and the film. I was recently talking to my dad and he was encouraging me to make more jewelry and actually sell it (because yeah, I have separation anxiety in regards to shinies, and paranoia that it’s going to not sell/it’s going to break apart).

My Dad has been very supportive and has promised me a corner in his workshop when it’s finished. I would have a place where I could get in to the “right mindset” and make colorful, beaded fishing wires to lure people in (fishing with shinies, all of the shinies to find PEOPLE). At the point I would have enough of an inventory and organization to make something happen, it will cause more tendency towards stability.

Now here we go onto the mind-melt/head-meets-desk portion of fishing. A couple of years ago I acquired the Faulkner version of the “Coffin Texts” and for many different reasons was not able to begin to look through them. I’ve always been much more familiar with the “Book of Pert-em-Hru” (“Book of Coming forth by Day” = “Book of the Dead” – I don’t like the second title because it limits the understanding and use of the subject matter), so I was not prepared for the subject matters mind-blowing content. I was finally able to dive in a few months ago and the melting/excitement began. It was something of an information overload due to all of the THINGS I could work with and use in practice.

There were some specific entries that captured my attention, but I wouldn’t find a real focus until I was reading a different book and saw a picture that still baffles and entices me. The picture was a line of three priests and they were armed with what was interpreted as fishing nets. They were using fishing nets to work magic. The image and idea burned in to my mind and has been driving me a tad nutty since it happened. I latched on to the idea of making a net and wanting to create a ritual based on the net.

I went back to the “Coffin Texts” and went through different spells that included fish and fishing (because CONTEXT is important), and am looking at sources that speak about daily life (cause yeah, people FISHED).  It will take me a while to build the ritual, build the net, and inspect the results. Even if what I’m going to end up doing is unsuccessful, at least I can say I made the effort to follow the obsessive impulses that happen in my wobbly head. When I’m further along, I will have status updates.

But yes, “F” is for fishing and it’s in my life.

About Neteruhemta

I am a follower of the Netjeru (Ancient Egyptian Pantheon), a crafter, and a gamer. This blog illustrates and explains my religious experiences attempting to reconcile the ancient information scattered with the modern reality we all presently exist in.

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Kemetic, Pagan, Pagan Blog Project, Ritual and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

